Roller Skating Association International

RSA Roller Skating Achievement Program

RSA Roller Skating Achievement Tests, originally called the RSROA Proficiency Tests, were established in 1939 to provide incentives for skaters to increase their skating skills without the pressure of competition.  These tests offer skaters attainable goals. Winning a test award is something of which to be proud and encourages skaters to advance further in developing their roller skating skills.

There is a separate sequence of tests for each of the twelve skating categories: American Team Dance, American Solo Dance, International Team Dance, International Solo Dance, Circle Figures, Loop Figures, Freestyle Skating, In-Line Freestyle Skating, Roller Hockey, Quad Speed Skating, In-line Speed Skating, plus a beginners test called the Super Skater Test.  Each sequence includes beginner tests in which skaters earn Bronze lapel pins, traditionally referred to as “medals.”  These skaters may then advance to the intermediate tests, earning Silver lapel pins; then on to the advanced tests, earning Gold lapel pins.  After all the pins in a series have been earned, the skater may take a final test for the Gold Medal in the category.  The final Gold Medal in each category is an Olympic style medallion engraved with the winner’s name and year in which the test was passed.  The medals are finely crafted and strung on a ribbon which can be worn with pride by any skater.

How to take an RSA Achievement Test

Who can take an Achievement Test?
RSA Roller Skating Achievement Tests may be taken by anyone without regard to their status as a recreational skater, amateur skater, professional instructor, rink operator, or official.  There are no membership requirements or restrictions.  Skaters need not be members of the Roller Skating Associations, the United States Amateur Roller Sports (USARS) or any other national organization, local group or club.  The USARS has authorized that Achievement Tests may be skated by an amateur with another amateur or professional without violating the Rules of Amateur Status.  An Achievement Test Center does not require a USARS sanction.  There are no age restrictions for taking these tests.

Where can you take an RSA Achievement test?
Achievement Tests may be skated only at RSA member roller skating centers unless advance written permission is granted by the RSA President or Executive Director and the SRSTA Chair to conduct an Achievement Test at another site.  All skater tests forms must be signed by an RSA member Judge except for the Super Skater class tests.  This is to verify the technical aspects of the test are skated.  Forms should be verified and submitted by the Achievement Test Center Director along with fees collected.

How to arrange to take an Achievement Test
In most cases, Achievement Tests are given during a specially organized test center.  The skating center operator, teacher, coach, or judges panel chairman will establish a time for the test center.  This person, called the test center director, will make the necessary arrangements which include scheduling of the tests, contacting and confirming all of the judges and officials, preparing the test forms and applications, collecting the appropriate fees from each skater and sending the original applications and necessary forms to the RSA National Office within 10 days of the test center.  All the necessary applications and forms are available from the RSA National Office upon request.  Please note that the test center is held through the courtesy of the rink operator.  Please show every consideration in arranging the test center by beginning and ending on time.

Skaters who have successfully completed their tests will be awarded Achievement Test pins.  The pins are sent in care of the skater's home rink (the rink where they took their classes or lessons) or to the rink where the test center was conducted.  Should a skater fail a test the fees are forfeited; and, the full test fee must be paid again to re-skate the test.  A skater who fails a test must wait at least 30 days before retaking the test except for the Gold Medal tests.  A skater who fails a Gold Medal Test is not required to wait 30 days to retake that test, but the re-skate cannot be taken at the same Gold Medal test center.